Fort Morgan, AL

What is better than the beach? Nothing.

What is a close second? Fall in the South.

Fall means football season (RTR), tailgates, bonfires, some of the best holidays, and when you’re in the South it means the PERFECT weather. It’s not so hot that you don’t want to step away from a fan, but it’s not cold enough to not enjoy nature. Add the beach breeze to this and it makes for the best weather and best weekend getaway.

Back to my little house on the bay, this time traveling with my parents. Whenever I can get time with my parents, I always take advantage of it. Being in college is hard, especially as you get older, because you realize all your parents do for you, and how much you miss them.

We had a great weekend bonding with one another. We ate at all our favorite beach restaurants, having breakfast one morning at Sassy Bass’s buffet, and we go to enjoy the Fish River Grill.

The Fish River Grill is my parents favorite restaurant at the beach, because they have live music, and the cutest old man plays. When we went this time around the man was sick and in the hospital, so we did not have the same experience as usual. This got me thinking about how quickly the day comes where one can get sick and not be able to enjoy their favorite things, such as playing at a local restaurant.

It reminds me that even though I don’t know what it is that makes me the happiest, or exactly what I want to do with my life, I know what I want out of my life, and I must continue going after that. I want to create a life I can be proud of by encouraging others to go after what they want. And that is one reason I am working on this blog, to show people how traveling and learning from our travels can encourage us to create a life we are proud of.

The morning before we left the beach my father and I decided to take a walk down a road across the street from our house that leads to the beach. It was a private road and it seemed as if contractors were getting the land ready to build on, but ran into trouble, and boy am I happy they did. The road and surrounding area was beautiful. Even though it was a long walk and was pretty hot out, seeing different animals in their natural habitat was very cool, from a lake full of lily pads, to the many dunes around us, there was so much to take in.

Life can be rewarding if we just take the time to look around us, and literally take the path less traveled.

Leave a Reply

